2015 – A Year in Review

To say the least, 2015 has been busy. Though the year started off quietly, travel swiftly increased, work steadily grew busier, and as always, SWE has been a constant. (Speaking of which – next year’s annual conference theme is something along the lines of “Life’s Variable – SWE’s Your Constant”).

Travel was a constant this year. I felt as if I was constantly getting ready for that next work trip or the next weekend away. I spent the equivalent of over 2 weeks in Seattle for work, saw the Rolling Stones at the Indy 500, slid down a million slides (and ate at Paul Bunyan’s) in the Wisconsin Dells, experienced so much of London & Paris, and of course, ate Portillo’s and Lou Malnati’s on several trips to the Chicago area. We also enjoyed the company of our friends at a few weddings this year – Amanda & Jeremy’s wedding in August, and Luke & Lindsey’s wedding in November.

While I am still happily employed at the same company (and in the same job title and skill code), work has changed a lot too. In May, I moved over to working on a new commercial airplane, which has been such an adventure and a constant challenge. It has been a huge change, moving from production support for mature programs to design support for an airplane that is still taking shape. There is always something new to learn! I am so happy that I pursued a career in aerospace, and though 2016 will be a busy year for our program, I’m really excited to keep pushing forward.

As always, SWE has been a big part of my time outside of work. I bid farewell to collegiate leadership coaching at the close of FY15 (June 30), but said hello to coordinating the Wow Innovations Challenge on the outreach committee. I’ve also committed to helping with the 2017 region conference and am continuing to coordinate outreach awards. SWE contributed to my grand tour of Missouri in February, helped me attend the FIRST championships in April, and prompted my first-ever visit to Nashville in October (host city for WE15). Best of all, I officially became a life member in late February. πŸ™‚

What year is complete without a few visits to my alma mater? Though I only made it to Columbia three times this year, those three visits were a ton of fun. I love having people to visit (my sister is a sophomore, and my friend Julie recently graduated with a master’s degree in music) and so many fond memories of my time there. Sports are a little disappointing right now, but I know that it will eventually pick up again. πŸ˜› And in light of the recent tumult and unrest, I am praying that the interim leadership can push change and conversations forward, and transition the university & UM system into the hands of the new permanent leadership.

Ah, baseball. As many of you know, I am dating one of the biggest Cubs fans ever. That was easy in 2014 (when they were a minimal threat), but has grown in difficulty this year.* We attended a number of baseball games, including several Cards/Cubs games at Busch, a Cubs game at Wrigley, and a Cards/Cubs playoff game. The offseason has been a little tough, since they signed both of the big free agents from the Cardinals. 😦

* Who am I kidding? I love my Cubs fan dearly, and I’ll cut him some slack since he spent the first 18 years of his life in Chicago (and the next four in close proximity to the Iowa Cubs). I’ve accepted that we will never agree on baseball teams.

One of the other highlights of the year: meeting penguins. Best anniversary present ever. Another unexpected surprise – celebrating my 25th birthday on a beautiful dinner cruise in Paris, during our whirlwind Europe trip. I feel so lucky to have found a Disney-loving, sports-obsessed, music history – memorizing, goofy, ambitious engineer who will *always* be a child at heart, no matter how many degrees he has obtained. πŸ˜› (I’ll stop the sap there. Sorry.)

In June, I started getting into Pure Barre. Six months ago, I couldn’t plank for 30 seconds, much less 90. It is still really hard, but I have gotten so much stronger, and I love the energy and judgement-free atmosphere. I’m hoping to make it to the 100 club by April (fingers crossed!).

My parents’ home is incomplete without a dog running around and toys in every room. Scout entered our lives in March, and has given the house some much-needed energy and spunk. Though I didn’t get to help pick her out, I am thoroughly pleased with my family’s choice. It’s really flattering to be greeted with squeals and tail-wagging.

Needless to say, 2015 has been memorable in so many ways. Here’s to an even better 2016 πŸ™‚

Kate

snip3

Leave a comment